2015 Year in Review Recommendations

“The things I want to know are in books; my best friend is the man who’ll get me a book I ain’t read.” – Abraham Lincoln

It’s that time of year again so here are my favorite books I got to read and review/preview in 2015 (there are more than last year, but I don’t think I loved any of them as much as I did The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August last year).

 

book cover - orhan's inheritanceOrhan’s Inheritance by Aline Ohanesian

This year marked the 100th anniversary of the Armenian Genocide, which continues to be largely ignored and which is front and center in this novel.

 

 

The Life and Death of Sophie Stark by Anna Northbook cover - the life and death of sophie stark

This is a book that’s all about perspective, perception, and presentation. The narrative structure and how it ties together in the end underscores the novel’s themes.

 

book cover - dead wakeDead Wake by Erik Larsson

I’m a sucker for just about anything Erik Larsson writes but when I saw that he was live tweeting the events as they had happened 100 years earlier, I had to read the whole story.

 

book cover - cinderbook cover - winterThe Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

 

book cover - scarlet

book cover - cress

 

 

Technically I read Cinder last year and wasn’t overly impressed with Scarlet earlier this year but the final two installments in this series—Cress and Winter—more than make up for earlier weaknesses.

 

 

girl from the train - book cover

 

The Girl from the Train by Irma Joubert

I enjoyed this sentimental tale of reconnection in the years after World War II and learned about one of the programs that relocated German orphans in the wake of that war.

 

book cover - the shiningThe Shining by Stephen King

Not big on horror as a genre, I was surprised by just how much I loved The Shining—so much more psychological than I expected.

 

 

The Virgin’s Daughter and The Virgin’s Spy by Laura Andersenbook cover - virgin's daughtervirgin's spy - book cover

The first two books in The Tudor Legacy spin-off series that continues in the alternative history universe Laura Andersen created with her Boleyn Trilogy. Eager to see how it continues in 2016.

 

 

career of evil - book coverCareer of Evil by Robert Galbraith (a.k.a. J.K. Rowling)

The third in the Cormoran Strike series, Career of Evil gets deeper into the characters of Cormoran and Robin and their personal histories.

 

 

medicis daughter - book coverMédicis Daughter by Sophie Perinot

If you like novels about the Tudor Court, this novel of the Valois Court in France shows the English weren’t the only ones whose court intrigues and religious turmoil could turn deadly.

Leave a Reply

