1001 Books to Read Before You Die (Sort Of) Reading Challenge #166

melmoth the wanderer - book coverCharles Maturin’s Melmoth the Wanderer was one of the last books from my graduate school list of required readings that I hadn’t finished by the time I finished. I had to read it for my gothic literature seminar but we went in knowing there wouldn’t be enough time to finish so I put more effort into my final paper. Melmoth the Wanderer is largely a critique of the Catholic Church and religious institutions in general and the Inquisition in particular. Heavy religious themes encased in a number of embedded narratives—so many narratives and embedded at different levels to the point where I had completely lost the early threads of the original characters and premise long before I reached the end. There are plenty of gothic themes and motifs but I stopped caring about them a long time ago. I just wanted it to end and I’m glad it’s over. Melmoth the Wanderer was not my cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

