2014 Year in Review Recommendations

“If I like a book, I tend to read the author’s entire collection. But I choose mainly through personal recommendations, general word of mouth and book reviews.” — Randa Abdel-Fattah

This year I decided to do a year-in-review type of thing and post list of my favorite books that I reviewed or had a chance to preview. I don’t think I’ll get into the books I’d recommend staying away from (but if you’re curious, leave a comment or send me a message and I’ll get back to you with the dirt). So, in case you missed them the first time around, here are some of the best books I was lucky enough to read in 2014.

9780316399616_p0_v1_s260x420 The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North

This is one of those books most people are going to either love or loathe. I happened to love it. Of the family and friends I recommended it to who also read it, they found it a very good book though not necessarily for the same reasons I did.

 

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson9780670012091_p0_v1_s260x420

I know so many people who have read and loved Speak so this book being good should come as no surprise to any of them. Its portrayal of living with someone suffering from PTSD is gritty and gut wrenching.

 


9781596439092_p0_v2_s260x420 The Truth About Alice
by Jennifer Mathieu

Perhaps one of the best demonstrations of not just how the high school rumor mill works but done in a way that doesn’t simultaneously have an attitude of “what can you do.” It manages to hold out a beacon of hope to those suffering who can’t imagine things getting better.

 

The Cuckoo’s Calling and The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)9780316206877_p0_v19_s260x420

51m4P63APoL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Every once in a while I go through phases when I remember my childhood love of murder mysteries (I grew up on reruns of Murder, She Wrote and Columbo and watched oh so many seasons of Law & Order over the years). I’m glad to know I have a reliable series where I can look forward to pre-ordering new releases and get my mystery fix.

 

Virgin by Radhika Sanghani9780425276310_p0_v4_s260x420

This wasn’t some phenomenal work of capital “L” Literature but it made me laugh so many times, I can’t help including it on my list.

 

9781595141880_p0_v1_s260x420 Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

So I was a little late to hearing about this one but the narrative style and the content have both stuck with me. It’s one of those YA books that make me feel less guilty about taking my chances with the genre so frequently.

Leave a Reply

