1001 Books to Read Before You Die (Sort Of) Challenge #155

“The answers you get from literature depend on the questions you pose.” – Margaret Atwood

9780385720953_p0_v1_s260x420Iris Griffen’s roundabout narration of the life and death of her posthumously famous sister, Laura Chase, mingles with excerpts from the science fiction tinged novel that made her famous. But nothing is quite what it seems as Iris’ apparent passivity and naïveté in the face of so many insistent and forceful people in her young life push her to develop a strength that doesn’t always work in her favor, but which surprises everyone in the end, including herself.

I am a huge fan of Margaret Atwood’s Maddaddam Trilogy and when I heard that HBO was adapting it into a series, I decided to celebrate with reading more Margaret Atwood. Unfortunately, the timing of other things interfered with my ability to really get into The Blind Assassin in the beginning. The narrative, which switches around a lot, only made it more difficult to follow as I was working on other books and several work projects. I picked it up and read is sporadically most of the summer and was ready to write it off as just one of those books I wasn’t going to enjoy much, but in the last hundred pages as the different narrative threads began to come together more clearly, I found myself keeping it close by more often so that when I had a few extra minutes here and there. It was simply an unfortunate case of bad timing that got me off on the wrong foot with this particular Atwood work, but in the end I was surprised to find the satisfaction I’d given up on (of course, it’s Atwood so I shouldn’t have lost my faith so easily).

Leave a Reply

