New Year’s Goals

“Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishment.” — Jim Rohn

I’ve decided that I’m not going to make a New Year’s Resolution this year. Instead I’m going to set goals. Resolution is just too demanding a word for the unknowable future. I find goals more realistic (and more forgiving). So here are some goals for this resurrected blog of mine:

1) I would like to post at least three times a month, regardless of how difficult my workload may make this. This means I’ll probably be going back to posting a lot of book reviews but I’m more than okay with this (and I’ll try to sneak in a flash fiction piece from time to time).

2) I want to make at least one literary sojourn this year to continue with my Literary Travels (though, this will probably need to wait until I’m not so buried in snow).

3) I want to break 160 in my progress on the 1001 Books to Read Before You Die challenge (I did so well during the first half of last year but really trailed off towards the end).

4) This one has less to do with this blog and more to do with my attempts to be a financially responsible bibliophile: I want to read more of the books from my To Read pile that I already own than books I buy during the course of the year (in other words read more than I buy). Might not be so hard since I’ve taken to using my library’s ebook loaning system. Hooray for free books!

What are your reading goals for the new year?

1391455_10151624307736218_11097594_nMy time manager keeping me on task.

Leave a Reply

