NaNoWriMo Is Eating My Time

“Don’t be offended if you encounter some good-natured ribbing; the idea of writing a novel in a month deserves to be laughed at.” – Chris Baty

I swear, I have not disappeared off of the face of the earth; just down the rabbit hole that is NaNoWriMo. I’m not officially taking part since I’m not starting from scratch. But my two chapter head start turned into the most detailed outline to date for this particular project and it’s helping to keep me on track. Still a little behind but that’s my niece’s fault (she’s just too cute to ignore when she’s here on weekends).

So instead of reading and posting here, I’ve been plugging away with my blue ballpoint pen and a two-dollar notebook. I love handwriting and then editing while I transcribe (mostly because everything somehow gets longer during the transcription process). I am still reading, just not very quickly. I’m also excited for Catching Fire’s release at the end of next week so some of my reading time has been taken up with re-reading that trilogy. Yes, again. But I’ve written about it enough so I won’t be bothering you all with that again (unless you really want me to; I can and I will discuss those books all day if given the opportunity). I should have a book review sometime this week or next, but no promises.

With any luck, I’ll make it out of this month with my sanity and a working draft of the first novel of my own trilogy. Okay, you can go ahead and laugh now. I know I am.

Leave a Reply

