1001 Books to Read Before You Die (Sort-Of) Challenge #149

“A writer should write with his eyes and a painter paint with his ears.” – Gertrude Stein

This is the first book from the list that I’ve finished since I’ve started to record this (sort-of) challenge. So I’m going to take a brief break from recapping the books on the list that I’ve already read to write a brief account of the one I’ve just finished.

9781411433281_p0_v1_s260x420I was assigned Gertrude Stein’s Three Lives for one of my graduate classes. Well, actually, I was assigned the middle section of Three Lives, the Melanctha section. I didn’t care for it that much but since it becomes personal for me to finish each book I start (no matter how long or how many breaks it may take). So I went back and read the first and third sections as well. I still don’t care for it. I don’t care for the repetitive nature of her writing style. I understand why it’s done, but I find it tedious. As far as story goes, there just isn’t a lot there. And that’s intentional, the value of ordinary lives. And I do like that she’s highlighting the lives of women, giving voice to women at a time when were struggling to make their voices heard. But it isn’t as interesting or as attention grabbing as I was in the mood for.

Now, I just have five more books to finish from last semester.

Leave a Reply

