Again and Once More Again: The Joys of Re-reading

“If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” – Oscar Wilde

As much as I always enjoyed a trip to the library, there was always something infinitely more satisfying about walking out of a bookstore with an armload of books. To go to the library meant having to return them when I reached the end and, in many cases, even though I had finished the book, I was by no means done with it. I have my own living library now, continuously growing and expanding (I’m getting ready to add a seventh bookcase to the family). It isn’t as though I hoard my books with no one allowed to touch them but me; they take vacations of their own but they (almost) always come back. And when they do, we have a chance to become reacquainted with one another and I find myself feeling akin to how I felt when I first took it/them home.

After a streak of reading only new books, it’s nice to relax with an old, familiar favorite, a book that’s become a part of you and has crossed the line into family. This summer, I’m planning a family reunion. It has been more than ten years since I first read a Harry Potter book and with the final installment in the film series due out in a matter of weeks, I’m finally going back and reading them all again. Having grown up with it and witnessing what it has done to popular culture as well as the book and film industries, it is only fitting to celebrate this last piece with a trip down memory lane. It will be a test to see just how well I actually remember them and this time around I think I will appreciate the path that was laid out from the start now that I’m not losing track of my bread crumbs in my excitement. I wonder if my favorite parts will still be my favorites now that hindsight is involved?

Since Harry Potter will only take up a fraction of the summer, I think I might pull a few others down from the shelf for a second (or third or fourth) go-round. It would be nice to take my time through The Hunger Games as well as read them without a gaping eleven month break between Catching Fire and Mockingjay. Maybe I’ll revisit Russia with Crime and Punishment or walk from Longbourn to Netherfield once more if the weather is clear enough. I haven’t made up my mind that far yet but I do plan to relax a little and switch up my regular book reviews with a sprinkling of re-reading.

Leave a Reply

