Looking for something a little more flexible than “resolution”

“An optimist stays up until midnight to see the new year in.  A pessimist stays up to make sure the old year leaves.” – Bill Vaughan

There’s more potent Resolve in laundry rooms than at the heart of most New Year’s Resolutions. My own resolutions are largely reruns at this point. I still have more Bath & Body Works products than I can use in a year but every year I resolve to do my best to use them up (especially the ones I’ve had kicking around since Y2K). Similarly, each January 1st, I find myself resolving to read at least a book a week (which I actually did last year for the first time in six or seven years).

Instead of making real “resolutions,” this year I’m making some New Year’s Targets for myself and more to the point, for this blog. I’m going to shoot for reading a book a week and posting a corresponding book review a week. I’m going to shoot for reviewing some of the classics as part of my reviews (since I haven’t really done so thus far and they do comprise a significant portion of my bookshelves). I’m going to try to post more fiction; not as much as when I started the blog at the beginning of summer, but more than I have been lately. Instead of trying to post regularly through the week, I’m going to concentrate my posting to weekends and stop tiring myself out during the work week.

So, a somewhat belated Happy New Year to any readers. I hope you enjoyed my blog in 2010 and I hope you’ll enjoy it even more in 2011.

Leave a Reply

