National Novel Writing Month: Bring on the desperation

“I am one of those people who thrive on deadlines, nothing brings on inspiration more readily than desperation.” – Harry Shearer

Tomorrow kicks off the annual National Novel Writing Month and for the first time, I will participate. Or at least try. I had to cut back on my writing after starting my new job and planned to do a lot of writing on weekends. It hasn’t worked out as well as I had hoped (but then, the month I picked to start happened to be the month 2/3 of my family and friends were born in).

So now I’m using NaNoWriMo as an excuse to up my daily word counts. The goal is to write a novel of at least 50,000 words in 30 days. It breaks down to an average of only 1,667 words per day which makes it feel much more doable. Even so, I’m working on a novel I started writing back in September (it will only give me a two day head start but it’s over 3,000 words closer to the finish line).

2 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month: Bring on the desperation

  1. Is it okay to post part of this on my website if I include a backlink to this page?

Leave a Reply

