Am I the prison guard or an inmate?

“Books are like imprisoned souls till someone takes them down from a shelf and frees them.” – Samuel Butler

I’ve been doing better than I ever thought I would about clearing the books off of the To Read bookcase by my bedroom door. It’s reached the point where there are more coming off of it than getting put onto it.

However, I have a new problem. My digital To Read bookshelf is growing by leaps and bounds. Thank goodness this weekend starts the last week of Barnes & Noble’s ebook classics promotion. Every week since mid-July, they’ve been offering twelve different Barnes & Noble Classic edition ebooks for free. Even before I got my Nook I began filling my digital library with these free copies of books I’ve always wanted to get around to reading at some point. Now I have an ebook library of about thirty books that I’m going to feel the need to read before I actually spend money on new books, whether they have a physical presence on my shelves or if they only haunt my thoughts with the knowledge of their existence.

5 thoughts on “Am I the prison guard or an inmate?

  1. RandomizeME says:

    I’ve got a to-read pile of my own, but I refuse to be chained to it though. We already have so many stressful things that I refuse to add books-to-read to the list of things to get uptight about.

    Yes, there’s a deluge of freebies, not just from B&N, Amazon gives away boatloads every week (I should know, I’ve been posting about them on my blog), but I’ve since learned to really pick and choose, or just download without feeling guilty if I don’t quite get to them immediately.

    • I wouldn’t say I’m stressed about it (if I was, I would stop buying books which is never going to happen). I love reading and I love lists, so I love crossing books off my To Read list. Plus, it pushes me to read books I couldn’t wait to read years ago but that fell by the wayside with school assignments and stuff. I still have books from middle school that have been patiently waiting for me to get to them. 😉

  2. link says:

    ok how is this supposedto mean?

Leave a Reply

