Finding the right combination

“Enthusiasm is excitement with inspiration, motivation, and a pinch of creativity.” – Bo Bennett

I finally finished writing the short story I’ve been working on all summer. Now I have to finish typing and editing it so I can start sending it off along with the next round of manuscripts from my last story. On the plus side, I’ve started working on another novel (still suffering from writer’s block on the one I’ve been working on for a few years now). There’s nothing like the feeling of picking up a fresh notebook and getting started on something new.

This time, I’m trying to be less formal about my approach. It isn’t the kind of project where I feel the need to start at the beginning and end with the end. If I get an idea for a piece in the middle, instead of making a note for later reference, I’m letting myself jump in on it before I lose it. Hopefully this will result in a finished product. I find myself waking up with something I absolutely need to get down on paper and two hours later I remember I should have breakfast and take a shower before I get hypoglycemic and fall off my chair. It’s nice to feel myself getting so wrapped up in my excitement.

Leave a Reply

