How would you like your rejection? Paper or digital?

“I could write an entertaining novel about rejection slips, but I fear it would be overly long.” – Louise Brown

I got my first rejection slip in the mail the other day. It’s not the first time that my work has been rejected for publication, but it is the first printed rejection slip I’ve received. In this digital age, most of what I’ve seen for rejections has been a short email or less. A simple change in the text for the online submission page from “In Progress” or “Received” to “Complete” with an asterisk explaining that if a piece is chosen for publication, the field would read, “Accepted.”

I’m not sure which technique I like better. The digital version is far more eco-friendly. At least the slip I got was small and not forced to take up a full sheet of paper. It would be nice if there were comments of constructive criticism, but I understand that there isn’t time for them to personalize each rejection. If they’re not going to personalize it, I’d rather there be no self-addressed stamped envelope. Still, I’m going to save this slip. I like that it’s tangible. But any future paper slips I’ll be recycling. I only need one. It’s a perfectly adequate physical stand-in for the rest.

One thought on “How would you like your rejection? Paper or digital?

  1. Dan Bahr says:

    Congrats to you for having accomplished the daunting task of at least having something complete to send in to a publisher. That is so much of the challenge that you should be proud of that. It is a dream of mine to someday have some of my work published. First I ahve to finsih some of this so called work.

Leave a Reply

