Creativity triumphs over expense

“Creativity is the answer. I always prefer the creative solution to an expensive solution.” – Keenen Ivory Wayans

After much research, thought, evaluation, and finally some good old fashioned Magyvering, my laptop is back in working order. It would have been too expensive to send it away for them to fix (finding out the extended warranties had expired and the cost would be even greater than originally anticipated also played a role). The computer is four years old and in the next few years I’ll end up needing to buy a new one for something more serious than a broken key. Better to put the money I would have spent fixing it towards a newer (and better) one.

In the mean time, I needed to find a solution to spacelessness. Pulling off the little rubber nub showed the underlying component would still work but it was a lot harder to hit it every time. I hadn’t thrown out the rubber nub though, so I found some good old Elmer’s glue and with the help of a toothpick, glued the tiny sucker back on. All that worry and the solution was sitting in the craft cabinet where it’s been since I was four.

Anyway, starting tomorrow everything should be back to normal as far as my regular posting schedule.

Leave a Reply

