Motivated into starting good habits

“Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going.” – Jim Rohn

A new month and a new round of submissions. There are still some publications I’m looking to submit to that won’t be accepting anything until August or September (my own fault for waiting until after school ended and graduation was over before looking at the submission dates for most of them).

The good news is I think I’m getting the hang of the process. I like the online submissions, though they tend to have processing fees. The American Express, Visa, and other credit card company gift cards are a great way to pay for those without giving up too much information (I also happened to receive a few as graduation gifts, so more family and friends are fueling my love for writing than even they may know).

I’m definitely going to keep track of what I spend on trying to get published so that, even after I get published (and who knows how long after), I will be able to mark the day that I became more than just a published writer, I can mark the day that I started making my living as a writer, though it’ll likely be years and years if ever that writing will completely support me. Hopefully it’ll at least pay for a nice vacation now and again.

One thought on “Motivated into starting good habits

  1. Lua says:

    Good luck with the submissions and don’t lose that motivation, you’re going to need it 🙂

Leave a Reply

