Acquiring and buying are two very different things

“Next to acquiring good friends, the best acquisition is that of good books.” – Charles Caleb Colton

I’ve done a good job of not buying any books since I vowed not to buy any until Mockingjay comes out and I get rid of some from my To Read bookcase. I have only bought one book (and it was while I was on vacation so doesn’t that really count as a souvenir?). I have also done a good job of reading the books I have. With the exception of The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner (which I read free online; still available in that format for the next five days), I have read seven or eight from my To Read bookcase.

But in this past month, I have come to the realization that I do not need to buy books to acquire them. Apparently I’ve been wasting my money all these years because books have a habit of finding me, regardless of whether I’m paying for them or not. A family friend was getting rid of some books and told me to take anything that interested me, adding three books to the shelf. My parents were making a trip to the used book store and I spotted one in the box I didn’t even know we had so I rescued it and added that one to my shelf. My grandfather passed along a book he’d finally finished that has also worked its way onto the shelf.

So to sum up, in one month I’ve removed about seven books and added five. It’s going to take a long time to get through what’s left at this rate. But hey, at least I’m not paying for them.

2 thoughts on “Acquiring and buying are two very different things

  1. Lua says:

    Don’t you just love it when books just ‘come to you’ ? 🙂 They have a mind of their own and if they want to be acquired, they find a way to do so…
    And eight books in one month? wow-Good job! 🙂

    • The other day another friend of the family gave us a bunch of books her kids had outgrown for my baby niece. It must be a family trait this literary magnetism. 😉

      And I think eight books in a month is a new record for me (two of them were very short). It is due in large part to several all-day car rides on family vacation.

Leave a Reply

