Trying to get published = an exercise in patience

“Life was always a matter of waiting for the right moment to act.” – Paulo Coelho

Or acting and then waiting for the ripples of consequence to bounce back to you. At least that’s how it feels waiting to hear back about manuscripts and short story submissions. Still not likely to hear back from them until the end of August if not September. Once I settle into my new work schedule, I’ll be sending out another round of submissions. Writing is certainly not a vocation for those with no patience (at least not an easy one). Luckily, I have a little of it left, though if anyone knows where more can be purchased, that would be lovely.

For me, the best way to get through waiting is by killing time. It’s cathartic and, when done properly, can be productive. Writing exercises and self-imposed schedules are my current time-killer. Flash fiction is a good way to keep ideas flowing and make sure I’m writing every day (the Serial also helps make sure of that). I also find that alternating between reading and writing keeps my mind from locking down. I don’t know how anyone can marathon write; kudos to those who can. These simple changes of pace are breaks but I feel less guilty about taking them because I’m still being productive (at least, that’s what I tell myself).

2 thoughts on “Trying to get published = an exercise in patience

  1. Lua says:

    I can totally relate to your situation, I know how hard the waiting part can be! But hold on, it will happen and when it does, it’ll be all worth it 🙂

  2. It took ten years but I finally made it.

    Dr. B

Leave a Reply

