Simultaneously inspired and terrified

“No one inspired me to write, but writer Harlan Ellison terrified me into getting published.” – Dan Simmons

I have to recommend Novel & Short Story Writer’s Market to anyone interested in trying to get published. As I mentioned a few days ago, I received it the other day as a gift for my college graduation. I am a very organized person and the research process for finding venues for publication has been overwhelming and daunting. It felt like I kept winding up at the same places no matter how many different approaches I used.

This book has organized a lot of that research for you and comes with a full year’s subscription to the corresponding website. The site even has a portion that helps you track which manuscripts you’ve submitted and to what publications (handy when doing simultaneous submissions at various publications).

Perhaps the best features are the various catalogues of publications with information about what they’re looking for, when their submission dates are, how to contact them, etc. all broken down based on what you’re writing (literary magazines, books, online markets, and a section for contests and awards). The lists include an easy to follow symbol system with a key at towards the beginning. I spent hours last night marking out which ones I felt would fit my writing subjects and style.

The book, published annually, also includes essays and advice in different areas and genres of writing from mystery and romance to comedy and satire as well as common questions about subjects such as grammar. I’m looking forward to reading it more in depth and putting it to use in the next week and a half before I go on vacation.

Leave a Reply

