Thinking about writing flash fiction

“A writer never has a vacation. For a writer life consists of either writing or thinking about writing.” – Eugene Ionesco

In my research into getting my short stories published I’ve run into a number of magazines for flash fiction which I hadn’t really heard of before (at least, not in that context). I find myself intrigued by the idea of flash fiction. To limit yourself so strictly, the challenge of working through an entire plot in less than 500 words. The shortest story I think I’ve ever written was “Bees” and even that one is almost 1500 words. In fact, I have a problem keeping things short (“A Mother’s Love” is almost 10,000 words, hardly a short story).

I’m going to try writing some flash fiction to see how it fits as a form. I’ve been enjoying writing my serial but even though I write it about 250 words at a time, there’s still a much larger overarching plot. As always, feedback on this endeavor is very much welcome.

Leave a Reply

