Starting on the first one

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started. The secret of getting started is breaking your complex overwhelming tasks into small manageable tasks, and then starting on the first one.” – Mark Twain

Today I submitted one of my short stories to a literary magazine to try to get it published. It isn’t the first time I’ve submitted a story for consideration but it has been a year or two and I feel I’m more prepared for the process as a whole.

My plan right now is to try submitting at least one story a week amongst various publications. The difficult part of the process is getting the right publications at the right times. Unfortunately, many don’t read submissions over summer break (which has always been the only time I’ve had to look into making submissions).

Then there are those that have reading fees. I understand that they need to have more income than simply the paid subscription fees provide and they receive more submissions than they have subscribers. Maybe when I have a more steady income I’ll be willing to submit to these kinds of publications but right now, I just can’t afford it.

Over all, I think my best bet is going to be looking into internships in publishing (I would love to become a reader or an editor myself). Once I learn the process better, I’ll be in a better position to navigate it myself. In the mean time, I’m going to make my submissions to the best of my knowledge and above all, keep writing.

Leave a Reply

