Stuck somewhere between laziness and labor

“There is a temperate zone in the mind, between luxurious indolence and exacting work; and it is to this region, just between laziness and labor, that summer reading belongs.” – Henry Ward Beecher

Now that I’ve lived through graduation and am waiting for my diplomas to come in the mail, it’s about time to tackle summer reading. I’m going to try to be good and not buy any new books until Mockingjay comes out August 24th (down to 91 days). Luckily, I have an entire To Read bookcase to work on. Not a pile or a shelf. An entire bookcase.

As you can see, I have books on top of books in front of books. Currently 84 books call this bookcase home. My summer goal is to get through as many as possible, but I’m aiming for at least twenty before I head out to buy Mockingjay. If my math serves me right, 20 books in 91 days comes to about a book every four or five days. I’ll try to write and post reviews for at least half of them. If I do this right, I’ll also be able to cross several off of the 1001 Books to Read Before You Die list as well.

Leave a Reply

