Please, hurl away

“This novel is not to be tossed lightly aside, but to be hurled with great force.” – Dorothy Parker

I was going through some of my old writing notebooks from high school and found a few stories and even a novel started but not completed. I’ve been working on typing up what I’ve found. This is only the first of five chapters that I managed to complete of a novel I planned to title Rosewood Manor. I still remember the intended arc but haven’t worked on it in about five or six years. I’ll be posting the chapters I have completed and if there’s enough interest, maybe I’ll work on completing it.

Rereading it to type it up has only confirmed: 1) it was very silly and melodramatic and 2) I knew nothing about the research that would be necessary for writing a historic fiction novel (and as it turns out, some of the history classes I’ve taken in college have provided decent research for finishing it).

I’m also in the process of trying to get a copy of the novel that I wrote when I was fourteen (to go even further back) but right now the files aren’t readable by my current laptop. When I do get a copy, I’ll post it one chapter at a time.

Excerpt from Rosewood Manor – Chapter 1:

“You look beautiful, dear.” A steady and practiced hand adjusted the lavish lace on Elizabeth’s dress.

“Mother, please,” Elizabeth quietly pleaded. Even in her scolding she was unable to stop smiling. Her younger sister clung to their mother’s side. Though she was thirteen, Anne was shy and quiet, clinging to those she found familiar. When two shadows approached, Anne shrank back even further.

“Mother, I don’t believe you’ve met Robert. He’s Charles’ younger brother. Robert will be living with us in London and learning the business with Charles. One day they may even be partners,” Elizabeth explained politely, eager to settle into her new role as a wife.

Leave a Reply

