98 of 1001 and counting

“Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.” – P. J. O’Rourke

Last summer I stumbled upon 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die and decided to challenge myself with completing it. Having read a number of them before finding the full list, I’m coming up on finishing my first hundred (two more and I’ll be there. Many are books that I already had on my To Read Bookcase (which currently has about seventy residents, only about half of which must be read before death). But it’s also forced me to read some things I wouldn’t otherwise have picked up. Watchmen wouldn’t have been on my shelf (but then my roommate would have made me read it even if it wasn’t on the list).

I’m currently working to finish The Brothers Karamazov for the list. There aren’t enough readers interested in Russian Literature these days (I waited through four years of college for a Russian Lit. class to be offered and it never happened). Personally, I think everyone should read Crime and Punishment. Anyway, current state: 98 of 1001. I’m on course to finish at about age 220. I’d better get cracking.

Leave a Reply

